Feeling Animated’s Second Anniversary

Well, here we are again celebrating another anniversary! I can hardly believe it, but Feeling Animated is now a whole two years old. It’s walking, talking and toilet trained… I’ll be taking it to a good nursery before I know it.

fireworks-rockets-colors-explosion-50556.jpeg

When this day rolls around each year, I like to take the opportunity to thank all of you amazing readers out there for visiting – without your support, I don’t know how I’d ever find the motivation to finish some of these enormous posts, and it means the world to know that there are so many of you out there enjoying my articles. On those days when I’m sitting there with piles of notes, a blank Word document and only a few hours before my next shift, I like to picture someone sitting in Moscow, Manila, Minneapolis or Madrid, browsing my site on their laptop (perhaps in a different language) with a smile on their face – it always puts me back in the mood to work. The film reviews in particular are the ones which always set my procrastination off; each one can take upwards of eighteen hours to put together, especially when they’re as ludicrously long as the Anastasia one. I write about animation because it means something to me personally, so it’s great to be able to share that passion for the art form with like-minded individuals like you.

If you’re new around here, a very warm welcome to you! You might like to start by looking through some of the Disney canon reviews, which are still among the main attractions judging from my analytics – reviewing those was an epic fourteen-month undertaking which was both frustrating and immensely rewarding, and it taught me so much about the films I’d always loved. (I’m particularly proud of my Hunchback review). From there, you’ll also find a growing list of book reviews, as well as reviews of various famous animated shorts, shorter reviews of films I’ve seen for the first time, reviews of non-Disney films and other lists, rankings and discussions. It’s all there in the archive categories to the right, so please stay as long as you like!

Now, how does the upcoming year look? In the next few weeks, I’ll be picking up the Disney canon thread once again to review their most recent offering, Ralph Breaks the Internet (my first thoughts on which you can find here), which I’ll also be adding into my ranking. Before that, we have a review of Finding Nemo coming up, as well as a fresh book review and another anniversary – a certain sea sponge is turning twenty in a few weeks, and I have a few things to say about it. As spring heads towards summer, we’ll also be looking at a selection of cult classics like A Goofy Movie, as well as the other three hand-drawn DreamWorks films that followed The Prince of Egypt. Then there will be a couple more Don Bluth favourites and some more delicious works from Hayao Miyazaki, with plenty of other films to go after that. (Seriously, I wish I could review them faster, there are so many incredible works to look at!)

As usual, the film reviews will be interspersed with shorter articles on new releases (like the upcoming Toy Story 4… gulp) and short films (like my all-time favourite, Destino), as well as further book reviews. I’m also hoping to try something new over the summer with my first series review, which will be looking at the classic Nicktoon Rugrats – I’ve not had a chance to talk much about animated TV shows yet (barring one episode of Hey Arnold!) and I can’t neglect them any longer. The trouble is, I keep putting off lengthy projects like that because I’m trying to work through the endless list of films first. I should really pace myself, but every time I say I’ll stop posting weekly I wind up feeling too guilty to stick to it – still, the posting schedule might slow down later in the year, if I can get myself under control.

That pretty much covers everything – to conclude, I can only thank you all once again for reading, from those who’ve been here two whole years to those who just discovered Feeling Animated last week. You guys and gals are the best! Have a good day (or night… go and get some sleep!) and I’ll see you again soon for more. Stay animated!

 

Feeling Animated’s First Anniversary

 

Thank you, اﺮﻜﺷ, благодаря, děkuji, dank u, merci, danke, ευχαριστώ, mahalo, .תודה, dhanyavād, takk, terima kasih, grazie, どうもありがとう, 감사합니다, 谢谢, terima kasih, Xièxiè, dziękuję, спасибо, gracias, kop khun and ngiyabonga!

Eric's ship fireworks

11 Replies to “Feeling Animated’s Second Anniversary”

  1. Congratulations! You really set a standard for me to follow when it comes to doing research for my reviews. They’re entertaining and enlightening (and don’t worry about them being too long; I for one have trouble keeping reviews I’m enthused about under novel length so you’ll hear no complaints from me). Here’s to another year of great writing and animation enthusiasm!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment