Upcoming Reviews

This is a constantly updated list of animated works that I’m planning to review.

Naturally, with so many (currently around 50), it’s going to take me forever to get through them all, so I hope you’ll keep checking back to see if I’ve gotten to your favourite yet! There’s certainly going to be no shortage of content.

If you have any suggestions for other things you’d like me to review, just leave a comment at the bottom of the page – if I’ve seen/played it, I’ll add it to the list. There aren’t many games or animes on the list; I’ve just included a couple of the ones that are important to me, since I’m no expert on either.

Colour Key: Red for films, Green for Shorts, Orange for Series, Yellow for Games

NEXT REVIEW: The next review will be of the 2004 film, The Incredibles.

  1. The Plague Dogs (Film, October 1982)
  2. An American Tail (Film, November 1986)
  3. Grave of the Fireflies (Film, April 1988)
  4. Kiki’s Delivery Service (Film, July 1989)
  5. Toy Story (Film, November 1995)
  6. Dexter’s Laboratory (Series, April 1996 – November 2003)
  7. Hey Arnold! (Series, October 1996 – June 2004)
  8. Princess Mononoke (Film, July 1997)
  9. Recess (Series, August 1997 – November 2001)
  10. Trespasser (Game, October 1998)
  11. The Rugrats Movie (Film, November 1998)
  12. Ed, Edd n Eddy (Series, January 1999 – November 2009)
  13. SpongeBob SquarePants (Series, May 1999 – present)
  14. Toy Story 2 (Film, November 1999)
  15. Titan A.E. (Film, June 2000)
  16. Chicken Run (Film, June 2000)
  17. As Told by Ginger (Series, October 2000 – November 2006)
  18. Rugrats in Paris (Film, November 2000)
  19. Recess: School’s Out (Film, February 2001)
  20. Shrek (Film, April 2001)
  21. Zoo Tycoon (Game, October 2001)
  22. Ice Age (Film, March 2002)
  23. Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (Game, March 2003)
  24. Rugrats Go Wild (Film, June 2003)
  25. The Triplets of Belleville (June 2003)
  26. Teen Titans (Series, July 2003 – September 2006)
  27. Avatar: The Last Airbender (Series, February 2005 – July 2008)
  28. Ouran High School Host Club (Anime, April – September 2006)
  29. Ratatouille (Film, June 2007)
  30. Phineas and Ferb (Series, August 2007 – June 2015)
  31. The Secret of Kells (Film, January 2009)
  32. Coraline (Film, February 2009)
  33. WALL-E (Film, June 2008)
  34. Up (Film, May 2009)
  35. The Sims 3 (Game, June 2009)
  36. Toy Story 3 (Film, June 2010)
  37. Rio (Film, March 2011)
  38. Hunter x Hunter (Anime, October 2011 – September 2014)
  39. Gravity Falls (Series, June 2012 – February 2016)
  40. The Blue Umbrella (Short, February 2013)
  41. Get a Horse! (Short, June 2013)
  42. Duet (Short, June 2014)
  43. Song of the Sea (Film, September 2014) First Thoughts Combo: Kubo and the Two Strings (2016) and Song of the Sea (2014)
  44. Kubo and the Two Strings (Film, August 2016) First Thoughts Combo: Kubo and the Two Strings (2016) and Song of the Sea (2014)
  45. Loving Vincent (Film, June 2017) First Thoughts on Loving Vincent (2017)
  46. The Breadwinner (Film, September 2017) First Thoughts on The Breadwinner (2017)
  47. Coco (Film, October 2017) First Thoughts on Coco (2017)
  48. Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Film, December 2018) First Thoughts on Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018)
  49. Toy Story 4 (Film, June 2019) First Thoughts on Toy Story 4 (2019)
  50. Wolfwalkers (Film, September 2020) First Thoughts on Wolfwalkers (2020)

NOTE: Dates for films/shorts are for their premieres; dates for shows/anime are first episode to last; dates for games are release of the original “vanilla” version (not including expansion packs)

In time, I’d like also to review the full Ghibli and Pixar canons, but I’ll focus on favourites at first.

Also, a few pieces of animation which I’m planning to see at some point:

UPCOMING FIRST THOUGHTS:

  1. Poor Pierrot (Short, October 1892)
  2. Rooty Toot Toot (Short, November 1951)
  3. American Pop (Film, February 1981)
  4. Angel’s Egg (Film, December 1985)
  5. The Dream of a Ridiculous Man (Short, October 1992)
  6. Ghost in the Shell (Film, November 1995)
  7. Daria (Series, March 1997 – January 2002)
  8. Neon Genesis Evangelion: The End of Evangelion (Film, July 1997)*
  9. Perfect Blue (Film, August 1997)
  10. Waking Life (Film, January 2001)
  11. Millennium Actress (Film, July 2001)
  12. Tokyo Godfathers (Film, August 2003)
  13. 5 Centimetres per Second (Film, March 2007)
  14. Persepolis (Film, May 2007)
  15. The House of Small Cubes (Short, June 2008)
  16. Fantastic Mr. Fox (Film, October 2009)
  17. Rango (Film, February 2011)
  18. Ernest & Celestine (Film, May 2012)

*This one is a bit awkward as you apparently need to have seen the anime to understand it properly, but the high praise it gets has me curious!

7 Replies to “Upcoming Reviews”

    1. A good list!
      I’ve seen the first three on it (I’ve got just one more Ghibli to go before I’ve seen the lot), and I’ve heard of the fourth one. I will probably do reviews of the top three in time, at least, as I do intend to focus more on Ghibli later on once the Disney canon has been concluded.
      I hadn’t heard of Liberty’s Kids, but after looking it up I wish I had, it sounds good! Packed with great voice actors and educational, too – I love American history. Shame this one was never shown in the UK!

      Like

  1. Interestingly, I’ve been reviewing animated TV series myself, as of late (you can read my reviews on the Rotoscopers site, if you’re interested). The series I’ve reviewed thus far- and which I highly recommend you to watch (many of them have been uploaded in their entirety to YouTube by fans)- include:

    1. SAGWA, THE CHINESE SIAMESE CAT (2001-2002)

    2. THE PROUD FAMILY (2001-2005)

    3. TUTENSTEIN (2003-2008)

    4. MUPPET BABIES (1984-1991)

    5. KIM POSSIBLE (2002-2007)

    6. THE WORLD OF PETER RABBIT AND FRIENDS (1992-1995)

    (I also hope to review AVATAR: THE LAST AIRBENDER [2005-2008] and 1,001 NIGHTS [2011-2012] somewhere down the line– hopefully after I’ve reviewed LIBERTY’S KIDS.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: